5 comments on “Problems that Japan faces today (Hisashi Kobayashi)

  1. ‘English native speakers’ don’t major in English education. Not in the sense that the article means (that is really a Japanese English term). I admit that English/EFL in Japan is a disaster, but it always has been, obviously, especially in the modern ‘massified’ era.

  2. I am out of Japan for long time and I really do not understand how bad English skills of Japanese are.
    Is it getting any better these days? I thought it cannot go any worse since once it hits the bottom of the basement, it cannot go any lower than that. Did Japanese manage to create new floors below the basement to go further below?
    What is the causes of major failures in Japanese English in your eyes? I wrote about “Factors affecting English proficiency” https://ppotato.wordpress.com/2010/06/27/factors-affecting-english-proficiency/

  3. 2010年9月28日(火)
    何が日本の若者を俯かせてしまうのか?
    ——ブエノスアイレスから見た不思議の国・日本
    http://toolsweb.nikkeibp.co.jp/cgi-bin/mt/mt-tb.cgi/48285
    This article seems to be too biased; telling only one side of the story. He himself is not so specialized and has a dubious phd degree. But the take-home message is that some Japanese university systems are creating havoc.

  4. I hope nothing now because Japanese, especially young people, are unambitious. I want to get away from Japan as soon as possible. Otherwise we will be killed by old or middle-aged people.

  5. >I hope nothing now because Japanese, especially young people, are unambitious. I want to get away from Japan as soon as possible. Otherwise we will be killed by old or middle-aged people.
    Just rephrase it for clarity: I have no hope in future of Japan, since young people are unambitious. I want to get out of / go away from Japan …

    So a question is which age bracket are you in? I refrain from commenting negative about Japan since I have been away from it for long time.
    >young people are unambitious.
    My generation had been beating up teachers and others frequently and I am not sure that was good or not. I thought quite a few students and teachers in my junior high were idiots with no ambition. I never thought I would come abroad for university until one of my friend told me he applied Temple university in Japan. I do not have any success stories to tell to others: I hope others will lead a better life in their own term. Success and failure make people a character. A homeless man would be happy if he could get a meal while riches might feel privileged by having a diamond. but at the end of the day, they may have a same sweet dream: freedom and free time.

    Often “intellectuals” cite that the number of Japanese students are decreased 40% in the USA. But the population of young people in this age bracket also decreased 21%. And many other countries are offering highly competitive education at much lower price and Bush’s policies did not really make the USA attractive. Therefore overall, I am not sure young Japanese are really become less unambitious these days by judging from these numbers.

    And there is no need to be proud of “all Japanese”. There are plenty of young ambitious folks who will excel previous generations regardless of the health of Japan as a whole.
    If you decide to come abroad, congratulation. But please be prepared to work much harder than you did in Japan even though the meaning of work harder might be very different from what you think. No matter where we live, the competition will become tougher due to the billions of people in developing countries who can individually compete with people in developed countries.

Leave a Reply

